Our State Fair


Our state fair is a great state fair.  Don’t miss it, don’t even be late.  It was warm but the humidity was down and I made it singing and dancing through the fair.  But seriously we literally walked for 8 hours.  We stopped and sat briefly when we had our grilled chicken at Charcoal Grill Roadhouse.  We also sat under a tent that said, “Have a Seat and Relax” while Mike ate his cheese curds, deep-fried of course.  But I got antsy, so while he was eating those things, I meandered next door over to the Red Cross tent to get wet under the mist sprayers.

Where's Janice?

Can you spot me amidst the throngs?

There is so much that goes on at the fair, we don’t even see half of it.  We do what we can do.   After we hit our favorite places, eat our favorite foods, we are done.  I don’t know if this is your typical fair goer or not.  You know what, I let you be the judge on that one.

One of the places that is a must for me is the Natural Resources Park.  It’s like an oasis in the sea of humanity.  We looked at the plants native to Wisconsin and some invasive species that we need to be aware of and not contribute to their spread.  We looked at all the new tools available for home gardeners and I found this fantastic Smart Pot, that’s the name of it.  It’s a pot for container gardening.  It’s flexible and you can even grow potatoes in it.  I salivated over that pot.  When we were living in the frozen tundra of Bagley, MN, we had this super huge garden.  I grew lettuce, corn, beans, peas, squash, tomatoes, carrots, and potatoes.  There was nothing like making dinner and going out back to get my ingredients.  My favorite thing was the potatoes.  For the three years I had a garden up there we always had a bumper crop of potatoes.  That is one of the few things I miss from Bagley.

The University of Wisconsin Extension has a little log house where you can get information on gardening, plants, landscaping etc, from master gardeners.  I picked up this pamphlet on how to get started in the master gardener program and eventually become a volunteer master gardener.  The program in Wisconsin starts in January which is considered spring. and I am thinking this would be way cool for me.  I brought home the brochures and it is on my list.

The new air-conditioned expo center where all the vendors are located is a must for us.  First it is air-conditioned and second we usually come away with something we can’t live without.  One year we bought a hot tub of all things.  Every time we walked past a hot tub display I would nudge Mike and say, “Hey, you want to buy one of those.”

Last year we bought, custom-made sun glass clip-ons for Mike’s glasses, pineapple salsa from C.A. John’s Salsa, Fortners spices and a micro fiber mop replacement for our swivel Starfiber mop we bought one other year.  This year we bought Firewire: flexible grilling skewers, and an out of this world dragonfly necklace for me.

I have plans for this necklace to help me with my new life as a crone.  I’ll chronicle that story at another time.  I know that picture of me with my necklace is a little scary but I was concentrating so hard on Mike taking my picture I forgot to smile.  I decided that now was the time to come out of the closet and be the real me for all the world to see.  Well, at least all of my one or to blog readers anyway.

We also bought more pineapple salsa, two jars this time and an official state fair straw cowboy hat for our oldest son’s birthday.  He moved to Texas and we think he needs a cowboy hat.  I’m sure he doesn’t agree with us but he is going to get it anyway.  Don’t worry I am sure he doesn’t read this blog so the cat isn’t out of the bag.  However, he arrives today for a weeklong visit and we are going to spring it on him early.  He doesn’t turn 42 huge, middle-aged years till September.  (Having a son who is going to be 42 is a whole nuther blog).

We had near misses on a few things.  What my eyeballs popped out for was the rain shower head that you can’t buy anywhere else but at the state fair.  It is that good.  The guy almost had us hooked till he said $89 and then we moved on.  We live on Mike’s pension now and can’t afford all this high-priced gadgets.  Like the chairs that you suspend from the ceiling or tree or your porch.  The rope one was $100.  We sat in them and the guy was trying to work his magic but sorry, we moved on.  The real thing to die for was the cedar greenhouse from New Frontiers Garden Furnishings.  I looked right at the guy and said, “I want that.”

“And I want you to have it,” he said.

We both looked at Mike and then we all laughed.  Mike went right over to the Wisconsin Lottery booth and got a lottery ticket so I can have it.  I can’t wait.

I came real close to buying some books from Usborne Books and More.  They are fantastic out of this world kids books and we can think of a grandchild or two that we would love to give them to.  It’s not scratched off the list.  We picked up the catalog and are going to meditate on it.

After we walked down every aisle it was time to go back outside and start eating in earnest.  I can see this blog on the state fair is going to turn into an epic so I will savor, I mean save, all the food we ate for next time.  So until next time, if you are going to the fair, whichever state you live in, have a great time.

5 thoughts on “Our State Fair

  1. Um, I hate to admit it but I was actually smirking myself as I was writing it. 🙂 Thanks again an for reading my stuff. Should I thank you for enjoying it or is that going to far?

    Like

Click here to comment

