Chapter 1 Perspective


Note: writing down my experiences the night of my vision quest took longer than I thought.  The result is a small novel. 🙂 As a result, I broke it up into chapters.   I have the next two chapters queued up in my blog to go out in three-day intervals.  You can expect to see chapter two on Tuesday October 11 followed by chapter three on Friday October 14th.  I hope you enjoy what I have to say and that gives you pause for consideration about your own perspective.

While sitting up in my circle waiting to hear what the universe has to say to me, gaining a sense of perspective was not what I had in mind but that is what I received.  I’m aware that everything has its own perspective.  An eagle has the perspective of the ability to see from high above, a broader perspective, a mouse has an up-close nose to the ground perspective, a baby has a fresh new perspective.  My perspective comes from my experiences, thoughts, values, beliefs.  I understand perspective intellectually but to feel it is mind expanding.  That is precisely my experience the night I sat out in my circle of stones on the night of the full moon.

If you read my owl blog then you know that it was the owls’ perspective I was looking for.  I was looking for the universe to confirm my sense of intuition, my ability to see though things with compassion.  Having an owl manifest in my campsite was what I thought I needed.  It seems I am always seeking out some sort of proof instead of relying on my inner self, my higher self for validation.  In other words, I am still working on my self-esteem, which sometimes I feel will be a life long project.

On the evening I received my gift of perspective, I left my tent to sit out in my circle of stones.   I placed objects in the four directions that I thought would help focus my intent.  I set up my sleeping bag and mat in the center to make myself comfy. I entered the circle from the east, the place of new beginnings and enlightenment and sat down.  It was dusk.  The night was balmy.  The wind died down.  I sat facing the south the place of action, goals and passions, so I could watch the moon through the trees.  The crickets started their nightly song and boy was it loud.  I marveled at the pulsing sound as it  filled my head and felt like a blanket around me.

I asked the Universe or God for guidance.  I remembered reading somewhere that you need to ask for what you want so I thought about what that was and opened my journal to write.

It is the night of the vision quest.  I have my circle set up.  It is a warm night.  I am wearing only a T-shirt and sweatpants.  I have my layers of clothes on the sleeping bag just in case. I am ready to receive a vision on how I can be of service to others during the last part of my life and anything the Spirits, Ancestors, Guides, Angels and Universe have to say, for the good of all.

At this point a warm breeze came out of the east.  I raised my face into the wind feeling it as it caressed my checks and rustled my hair.  Maybe this is the start of a new beginning.  I went back to my journal and continued. 

The sage I have in my conch shell is smoldering.  It smells wonderful.  The crickets are out.  I am under a cedar tree.  It looks like its been abused my campers.  I love you cedar tree.

Usually when I am out in nature, I give thanks by passing on love to trees, flowers, animals, birds…  I rolled onto my stomach facing north the place of gaining wisdom.  Suddenly something buzzed in my hair.  It was a dragonfly.  I  laughed and sat up.  I thanked the dragonfly as geese flew overhead.  It is interesting that dragonfly who carries the message of wisdom and enlightenment picked that particular time to make its presence felt.  I just need to be aware of the wisdom around me.

Sitting quietly for a moment, I went over some difficult times in my life.  I prayed for healing.  And then it came to me to write specifically in my journal what I am hoping for.  I grabbed my journal.

Ok, here it is…I choose to experience a dramatic vision.  Not scary.  Beautiful.  Transcendental.  Where my heart is opened to the universe and God.  I want to feel peace, light, love with my mind, body and spirit.

I thought seeing an owl would bring this about.  That wasn’t to be the case.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1 Perspective

  1. Such a wonderful story, Janice! Thank you so much for sharing it. What courage it takes to go into a forest alone and trust that an answer will come to a question–to your very sincere questions. And I love that you ended this post on a mysterious note–now I can’t wait to read what comes next!
    Dragonflies have been my friends, too. Ted Andrews, in his book, Animal Speak, says, “The dragonfly is the divine prompting to use the creative imagination as a force within your life.” And I love what he says for us crones: “The bright colors take time to develop, reflecting the idea that with maturity our own true colors come forth. That is part of dragonfly medicine.”
    Keep writing, Janice. You have so much to tell, so much to say.
    Pam

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and replying. I heard of that book Animal Speak, my friend brought it with her when we did the VQ together. It is on my list to acquire one of these days. Dragonfly medicine is indeed cool stuff. Thanks for sharing. Janice

      Like

Click here to comment

