Foolishness means Aliveness


Risk being foolish

Mike and I and another couple went to the Milwaukee Rep. Getting out of the car I felt an excitement at seeing this show. The Stackner Cabaret has intimate setting with 31 tables for eating and drinking and no orders taken during the show. The point is the show but the food is excellent.

We sat down at our table which was raised up along the side. We had a clear view of the stage and the performance but then everybody did. The lights dimmed. The band played and the show began.

Always…Patsy Cline is based on a true story about Cline’s life as told though the eyes of one fan, Louise Seger. The angle of the story being told from the Louise’s point of view brought an added depth to the singer’s life. Louise’s love for Patsy Cline’s music, her voice and singing was contagious. At one point in the story Louise said that Pasty Cline sang the way she always wanted to. Patsy Cline was her hero, her role model, her muse, her joy, her love, her dream, her wish, her passion.

Louise met Patsy Cline when the singer was to do a show at the Esquire Ballroom in TX. Louise wasted no time getting some friends together and to see her idol perform. Louise’s group was the first to arrive so they would be assured a table. While enjoying her beer, Louise saw a girl looking the place over eventually taking a seat three tables over from her. Louise was bursting with excitement when she realized the girl was Patsy Cline. Unable to sit still any longer Louise got up to go and say Hi to Patsy Cline.

“Louise, don’t be foolish,” one of her friends said.

Louise looked back at her friends and said, “Foolish I am and foolish I will always be.”

I loved that line. That line lit the whole story up for me. I paid attention to the show with renewed excitement.

Negative self talk can run through my head whenever I want to do something that requires stepping out of my comfort zone, doing something I love, something important to me where I will be out there or doing something that would bring me joy and probably get me noticed. I would hear, “Don’t be foolish.” “You’re going to make a fool of yourself.” in my head and stop dead in my tracks.

Wrestling with this negative self talk I realized that doing whatever would make me foolish was actually the thing that would bring me the most joy. One day I said to Mike, “You know making a fool of myself is really being alive.”

At once I made an affirmation. “To Make a Fool of oneself means to truly be Alive.” I put it on business cards to carry around with me. I wanted to remember that every time I am stopped by the words, “Don’t make a fool” that instead I am being shown something that will surely bring me great joy.

That is what happened for Louise. Being foolish and walking up to Patsy Cline was the start of a beautiful friendship for the both of them. Something that would not have happened if Louise was not afraid of being foolish.

I found that I am not the only one who thinks being foolish is a good thing. There is a quote by Theodore Rubin a psychiatrist and author of many books both fiction and nonfiction that is all over the Internet.

I must learn to love the fool in me, the one who feels too much, talks too much, takes too many chances, wins sometimes and loses often, lacks self-control, loves and hates, hurts and gets hurt, promises and breaks promises, laughs and cries.

And while at Theodore Isaac Rubin Quotes page on SearchQuotes.com I found another quote by Dr. Rubin that is in a similar vein.

Have you considered that if you don’t make waves, nobody including yourself will know that you are alive?

That is it for me, what I want to remember when I am about to embark on a foolish endeavor, that I am about to step out into aliveness.

13 responses to “Foolishness means Aliveness

  1. I love your article. In my book Take Charge of Your Own Career, I use the symbol of a crab molting its shell to represent taking risks. Crab build outer shells to protect themselves but from time to time they need to molt these and build back newer and bigger shells. They have to make themselves vulnerable in order to grow. If they refused to do that they would strangle inside their shells. Risk taking sometimes requires the possibility that you might appear foolish. But not taking risks leads to a worse possibility – walking stagnation.

    • Donna, Crab is an excellent representation of taking risks as you describe. I wonder, are there some crabs who actually do refuse to molt? Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment, a footprint on my blog. 🙂 I visited your web site and learned about the books. I look forward to getting to know you not just through my blog but through your writing as well. Janice

  2. Hi Janice. I love this blog! Making a fool of oneself takes courage. I am being mindful of “courage” this month. I think courage is the absence of fear. Just think of all the adventures and learning experiences we would have if we weren’t afraid. Hurray for having courage to be foolish! 🙂

    • Thanks Pam, Yes, courage and trust and believe in the self. It does take all of that. And it is all there once we just let go and be foolish. You should have seen the character in the show just waltz on up to her idol to say hi. The acting was good and the lesson, for me, amazing. I am so glad you’re being mindful of your “courage” and going for the foolish. For a bit, after writing this post on being foolish, I worried I was being a bit foolish, now how foolish is that!

  3. Great story….wonderful adage to live your life by….so many times in my life, I have stopped myself from saying what I feel or think out of fear of looking like a fool!! Kim

    • Kim, Worrying about being foolish can shut me down, that is why hearing that line in the show and seeing the character blaze on ahead was so powerful for me. Being a fool is the way to go. Thanks for stopping by Kim. Janice

  4. I love this Janice! It’s so true. Fear kills my dreams. It is only by walking through the fear that I have any chance of them coming true. Thank you for reminding me!
    Love, Ann

    • Hi, Ann, It helps being reminded that is why I made those cards with my affirmation to carry around. I just have to remember to take it out and look at it. Go for your dreams Ann. When you do you can’t go wrong.

  5. As always a great view on life..it seems the older I get the more adventerous I am and not afraid to make the first move..

  6. Hey Jazz, I love your site and this wonderful article. I am a devout fool. I often embark on adventures and fall flat on my face. I am an impulse buyer. I jump in my truck with no notice and drive 7 hours to see the ocean and then turn around and drive back. I dance funny. I make up words to popular songs because I can’t remember the real words. I talk funny. Thank you for this divine tribute to foolishness.
    Waldo

    • Waldo, now I get that about you. I mean that you are a devout fool although I would call it being a creative fun individual. We have the making up words to popular songs thing in common. I make them up because sometimes I can’t understand the singer is singing. I am honored that you stopped by. Thanks, Janice

  7. Pingback: Collecting Experiences

Click here to comment

